Mirror Post: Introducing TIS’s Solo Flight Coaching Program

Remember, we’ve moved! Check out the original post at The Inspired Solo‘s new home here!

 

Have you been thinking about going solo, but feel beset by doubts and fears? Don’t know where to start? Know you want to go out on your own but don’t know how to get there? This program’s for you.

If you’ve been wrestling with The Decision – “to solo or not to solo” – then you might be interested in the new feature here at The Inspired Solo. It’s called “Solo Flight” and it’s designed to help you make the decision about whether to go out on your own.

What The Program Is All About

Every week, for six weeks, I’ll post a “lesson” and “homework.” These posts will likely come on Fridays, giving you the weekend to do your primary thinking and writing. Each lesson will be slightly longer than a traditional blog post; the homework will take anywhere from a few minutes to a couple of hours, depending on the lesson, your speed, how much “digging” you need to do.

Each lesson and that lesson’s homework assignment will work together as a group to help you answer the crucial questions:

  • Do I want to be a solo?
  • What are my strengths and weaknesses as a future solo?
  • Can I shore up those weaknesses, and if so, how?
  • Is launching a solo practice right for me? My family? My career? My life?

At the end of the program, you’ll have a better idea of what you want, how realistic that dream is, and what you’ll have to do to make it a reality. You’ll also have a customized plan for your next steps, should you choose to proceed down the solo path.

Unlike other online coaching programs, this one is entirely self-directed. This first iteration, we’ll all be learning together – everyone who undertakes it as well as me, the coach, as this is the first time I’ve tried something like this as opposed to the more common one-on-one coaching with which most folks are familiar.

How To Sign Up

You need do nothing but commit to yourself to participate fully. This is entirely self-directed. There’s nothing to submit, nothing to post publicly, no forms to fill out. It’s all for you, by you. I am merely going to facilitate your coaching of yourself, in essence.

What You’ll Need To Participate

The following materials will be helpful to you:

  • A great pen that flows quickly across the page
  • Blank paper – either lined looseleaf, Circa punched, or printer paper, depending on your preferences
  • A notebook/binder that’s compatible with your paper choice
  • A printer, to print out the lessons, homework and your work, if you wish (not necessary but some prefer keeping printed materials for reference)

In addition, some homework exercises will require special tools but these should be, in every case, ordinary household items (such as scissors, glue, etc.). Curious yet? I hope so!

How Much This Will Cost You

Absolutely nothing, except your time and your commitment to the following proposition: You agree to communicate with me fully at the end of the course, via email (anonymously if you choose), about your experiences, and let me know what I can improve in this course and how.

Next Steps

I will begin next Friday with the first lesson and homework. It should go up sometime before 10 AM EST, but check back throughout the day if it isn’t – no later than close of business.

1 comment so far

  1. Mike Poche on

    Sheryl,

    I would like to take part in your program. I am on the verge of leaving my current law firm to create my own law practice. As a matter of fact, as I type this reply to you at 2:00 am on a Saturday, I am writing out a “things to do” list to get started. So, please, count me in, and feel free to contact me via email. Thanks.

    Mike


Leave a Reply

